Cold snaps and the blessings they bring

Winter.

She has announced her arrival loud and clear here in Joburg.

Compared to the rest of the world, we have a lovely temperate climate. We’re a sunshine-loving people. So when a cold front hits, it rains the entire weekend and the temperature drops to 7 degrees Celsius, we tend to mope.

I decided to make the most of the weekend though, cold, flu, and all.

Girl’s night. A rare occasion these days as adult life has caught up to us, and as most late 20-somethings can attest to, we are still finding our feet. Most weekends are spent trying to recover from the rat-race. Well, let me rather just speak for myself. We had fun though, and went to a local Italian restaurant that we have been visiting for years for some much needed catch-up time. Bracing the cold and actually getting out of my warm PJ’s was the biggest victory of the night for me though!

FB_IMG_1494827992903

Mother’s day was of course on Sunday, and we had a lovely time together. How blessed are we to still have our moms around, and to be able to celebrate them. Moms are happy to receive gifts, just like most of us, but it is the time and effort to make them feel special, that they really appreciate. We had a nice big brunch with my mom, mother-in-law and sisters.

The rest of the day was spent hibernating under piles of blankets, with the dogs snuggled in-between us. It was bliss!

20170512_193514

In short, my weekend was filled with everything I love most. My family and my home.

Sometimes a cold, dreary season is needed to remind us of what we have to be thankful for. And while I wait for the sun to return, I will make sure I treasure every moment.

Stay warm!

One thought on “Cold snaps and the blessings they bring

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

