The Granny Shrug

Granny Square Shrug

Let’s talk about the latest craze in the crochet world – the Granny Shrug. Originally created by Maria Valles, her ‘recipe’ has since gone viral.

I recently tried my own version, and made one for my sister – have a look:

IMG_20170408_172911_427IMG_20170407_200759_086.jpg

This was my first attempt, and I have to say, for someone who does not have a lot of patience with big crochet projects, I was pleasantly surprised to find that the project hooks up super-fast.

Using chunky yarn (or wool, as we say in South Africa) is your best bet. This makes for a nice and warm, ‘slouchy’ look and feel.

You can also head over to The Crochet Crowd’s website for a super easy tutorial and pattern.

Let me know if you have tried this awesome pattern – there are so many variations and options to choose from!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

